UPCOMING PROGRAMS AND EVENTS

Click on a category to jump to programs for:

Children   Adults

All programs are free and sponsored by the Friends of the Library.

Programs for Children and Families

Family Movie Night @ Main

Wednesdays @ 6:00 pm
Main Library Auditorium. No registration required.
Ages 16 and under MUST be accompanied by an adult.
Adults must remain in the auditorium.

August 23—Smurfs: The Lost Village

Grab Bag Science @ Main Library & LaSalle Library

Presented by Nature Ed-Ventures
For Kids Ages 8 - 12

Grab a science kit then begin exploring the amazing world of science. We'll make gooey slime, grow crystals and orbs, squeeze an egg into a bottle without breaking it, play with color changing worms, and shrink your art work. Learn about matter, molecules and their interactions.

Main Library: Tuesday, August 22 @ 2:30pm.
LaSalle Library: Thursday, August 24 @ 2:30pm.

Space is limited. Registration required.
Call 286-4902 for Main.
Call 283-8309 for LaSalle.

Programs for Adults

Beginner's Yoga @ LaSalle Library

Presented by Living Breath Yoga. Everyone is welcome! Bring a mat if you have one.

Saturday, August 26th - 2:00pm.
Registration required. Call 283-8309 to register today!

BTOP Express Computer Classes @ Main Library

Friday, September 8
10am - 1pm: Word Basic
1pm - 4pm: Excel Basic

Wednesday, September 13
10am - 1pm: Word Intermediate
1pm - 4pm: Flash Drives / File Management

Registration required. Call 286-4881

Craft Class for Adults @ LaSalle Library.

Make an adorable hedgehog out of a recycled paperback book.

Monday, September 11 @ 6:00 pm.

Registration required. Call 286-4892 ore email wudy@nioga.org.

Book Club @ Main Library

September Selection: The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict.

One of PopSugar's "25 Books You're Going to Curl Up with this Fall."

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Join us for a discussion on
Friday, September 15
2:00pm
Main Library. 1425 Main Street

Please register by calling 286-4881 or email nflref@nioga.org.

Copies available at the circulation desk.

Small Painting Paint Night @ Main Library

Using unconnventional tools, we will paint two pictures of birches on 9x12 inch pieces of canvas paper. All supplies provided.

Class will be repeated three times - choose the date that works best for you!

Tuesday, September 19 @ 6:00pm
Monday, September 25 @ 6:00pm
Wednesday, September 27 @ 6:00pm

Class size is limited. Registration required. Call 286-4892 or email wudy@nioga.org

Funded by the Friends of the Library.

Knitting & Crocheting Group @ LaSalle Library
Enjoy needlework? Join our informal group and make a cat blanket for the SPCA, or work on your own project! Knitters and crocheters should bring  #7, 8, or 9 needles, and/or a G or H hook plus one of any color skein of worsted wool yarn. 
Tuesdays @ 6:00 pm
Call 283-8309 to register